Story of one of our most inspiring young supporters and fundraisers… Rachael.

Here’s the story of one of our most inspiring young supporters  and fundraisers…

Rachael Card Recycler Extaordinare pic

Rachael Card Recycler Extaordinare pic

Rachael is proof that you can make a real difference and change the world with you actions!

We asked Rachael  to share her fantastic fundraising story with us:

 I was very happy and excited when you came and talked to me about my card making. I have done it for a long time now and I really enjoy it. When I was seven years old my mum and my Nana would always make beautiful cards together. I really liked doing different activities and enjoy art a lot. I have been making cards ever since.

 When I was eight I started selling the cards at church, and we would give the money to CAFOD. It was my mum’s idea and I thought it was a good thing to do to help other people less fortunate than ourselves. When I started selling the cards I was very shy and was scared that people would think they weren’t any good. My mum helped me for the first few weeks and after that I was fine. Everyone wanted to buy my cards and I was so chuffed. As I was getting so many people wanting to buy them I needed more cards. I then asked the people at church if they would give me their old used cards and they have been doing so ever since.

 A man at church said he would bring some of my cards to St. Agatha’s church in Dawlish. He kept giving me feed back to say if he needed more cards or certain types of cards, and he still does. One day he told me that St. Agatha’s wanted a picture of me to see who I was. When I gave them it, they were amazed. They thought I was an adult or a teenager not an eight year old girl. I was truly amazed! I carried on making cards and have helped other causes along the way, for example they helped fund a member of our church (Henry) go to Africa to help build a medical centre.

I sell the cards at 50p each and this slowly mounts up over the year. I’ve been doing this for 4years now and have raised several hundred pounds for CAFOD.

I hope this story inspires others to do similar projects as I have thoroughly enjoyed, and continue to enjoy doing this activity!

 Rachael

Rachael has completely inspired us we hope she’s inspired you to make a difference in your own way too! – Don’t just read this and smile be inspired and act like Rachael did! What will you do to transform the world?

6 thoughts on “Story of one of our most inspiring young supporters and fundraisers… Rachael.

  1. In our parish, All Saints covering Teignmouth, Dawlish and Shaldon, we know Rachael well and appreciate all the work she does for Cafod. She is an inspiration to us all.

    Like

  2. In our parish, All Saints, covering Teignmouth, Dawlish and Shaldon, Rachel is well known to us all and we appreciate all the work she does for Cafod. She is an inspiration to us all.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful young lady Rachel is. Her cards are a firm favourite and now I can show parishoners what she looks like.
    Thank you Rachel.

    Like

  4. Pingback: mh

Leave a Reply

