Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela – Celebrating a friend in the Spirit of Reflection and Prayer

Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela – Celebrating a friend in the Spirit of Reflection and Prayer

Fiona Hutchings ready for Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela

Fantastic CAFOD supporter and much loved and newly retired Head Teacher of Notre Dame Catholic Girls School in Plymouth Fiona Hutchings is soon to head out on her bike on the ancient well trodden path to Santiago de Compostela.

Kindly Fiona is asking people to sponsor her journey with monies raised for CAFOD and is also offering to take prayer intentions on her pilgrimage. We asked Fiona to share a few of her thoughts about her pilgrimage with us:

“Why I am going on pilgrimage? Because this is the Year of Faith and Bishop Christopher suggested it. I am not sure he meant by bike! I have been to places of pilgrimage before but I have never made the physical and spiritual journey to get there. With God’s help I am going to complete a challenging journey in a spirit of reflection. I am gathering prayer intentions to take with me so that I include others and don’t spend all my time praying for myself!

Fr John

Why? Because I wanted to do something positive to celebrate the life and work of my good friend, Father John Gilheney SDB so in his name I am hoping to raise £2000 for CAFOD. He was the teacher who inspired this teacher. He was also a keen cyclist.

Where? I shall be cycling from Burgos to Santiago de Compostela from October 15th to 28th. I aim to cover around 350 miles staying as far as possible in pilgrim hostels and including daily Mass where I can. I shall be starting off alone but hope to meet other pilgrims on the way.  Please keep me in your prayers, send me your prayer intentions on fiona_hutchings@yahoo.co.uk and donate if you can. All money given on the site below goes to CAFOD “

 www.justgiving.com/Fiona-Hutchings2

 We think Fiona is amazing, do please share your prayer intentions and consider sponsoring Fiona… Go for it Fiona!

Leave a Reply

