Introducing James Ronan CAFOD Plymouth’s Newest Key Volunteer

Hi, my name is James Ronan and I started working with CAFOD four years ago as parish contact for Our Lady of the Assumption Parish Tavistock. I’ve been a lifelong supporter of CAFOD and am currently undertaking a Geography degree at Plymouth University. After two years of studying I have decided to take a year out and do some volunteering work with CAFOD Plymouth.

I have a great interest in the lives, hopes dreams and struggles of my brothers and sisters in the developing world and I’m looking forward over the next year to devote even more time to work in solidarity with them through CAFOD.

As well as being a parish contact in Tavistock I help to lead a young people’s group in the parish alongside Fr John Greatbatch and Gillian Mill. And through my volunteering here at CAFOD Plymouth I want to help inspire young people to get more involved in actively taking part in creating a better world. As a geography student I understand the intricate nature of poverty and development, and the important role that we can play. The hard won development successes over the last few decades have made a big difference, but there is still so much more to do.

My role this year as an office volunteer will primarily focus on social media and supporting the staff and volunteers here at St Boniface House in its day to day work alongside our fantastic supporters in the Diocese of Plymouth. As part of the social media team here, I will be helping to update the CAFOD Plymouth blog and helping to manage the CAFOD Plymouth Facebook page and Twitter account to continue to raise awareness of global events, issues and campaigns.

I like many people am greatly inspired by Pope Francis who has said (amongst many other things) “The measure of the greatness of society is found in the way it treats those most in need, those who have nothing apart from their poverty”. So I hope I can play some small part in inspiring people to take action and create Gods kingdom of justice here on earth and society that puts love for our neighbour at the heart of it.

I’m keen to hear all about what CAFOD Plymouth supporters and volunteers are doing to create that fairer world, so if you’re holding a fundraising, campaign or community event for CAFOD please let me know and I will be more then pleased to help support you in sharing your fantastic work with all of our friends here online.

20140711_194800_4_bestshot

I am in the office Tuesdays and Fridays, and you can email me and leave a message at any time:

Email: jronan@cafod.org.uk

Phone: 01364 645440

 

Leave a Reply

