My experiences as an Office Volunteer

james ronan3Yesterday, James Ronan, told us about his reasons for volunteering and his first day in the office. Today, he tells us about how he was inspired and the fun times in the office

There was plenty of creativity and as a result every day that I went to work I felt inspired. Every day was different and there wasn’t really a typical average day as I was always being asked to do different things. Within the team and the office there was a deep sense of responsibility to make a positive difference to the lives of our poor brothers and sisters throughout the world and solidarity with those that CAFOD works to help. We would say the Angulus together every day at 12pm and also attend mass downstairs whenever a priest was available.

I do remember though as a group we did have a lot of funny things happen to us. It was Lindsey’s birthday and Simon had sent an email round to everyone in St Boniface House to sign a card for her. Unbeknown to Simon, Lindsey had also received the email! So, she wasn’t really surprised when we sneakily tried to arrange to sign the card away from her.

One Climate One World Me

At the One Climate, One World Campaign

One time we found a sleeping Bat in the downstairs toilet (which was thankfully removed). I was also told never to go upstairs into the loft as we had a resident Barn Owl and it was not to be disturbed. The fire brigade also turned up one day when I was working with Simon and Damien. One of the cleaners had set the fire alarm off by accident and we were the only ones left, this resulted in us all evacuating and coming outside to see the fire brigade ready to storm the building!

There were a lot of funny situations that occurred throughout my year working in the CAFOD Plymouth Office. I really enjoyed working in the CAFOD Plymouth office that year as it was Lindsey Carters final year as a paid member of staff and the office itself was being prepared to be moved (now located at Cobourg House in Plymouth).

The CAFOD Plymouth team were very appreciative of the difference I made and I was happy to have helped. I gained a lot of useful experience and have a lot of fond memories of my time there. I would like to thank Simon Giarchi and Lindsey Carter for all their support and for inspiring me on in the next stage of my life.

Each year, thousands of young people discover the work of CAFOD and are inspired to be the change they want to see in their communities. 

Young people are the future and we would love to hear about what young people in your area are doing for CAFOD and if you have have been inspired to volunteer with CAFOD or would like to know more; contact plymouth@cafod.org.uk

Leave a Reply

